Skip to main content

Veterans Hall of Fame Ceremony set for Nov. 9

Ohio Department of Veterans Services, Press Release

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services (ODVS), the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Executive Committee and the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Foundation will honor the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2023 during its annual Induction Ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 9, at 10 a.m. at the Ohio State University Fawcett Center, located at 2400 Olentangy River Rd., Columbus 43210.

The 20-person class will be honored with medals by ODVS Director Deborah Ashenhurst. Many other distinguished guests, including previously inducted Hall of Famers, will be present.

The complete list of 2023 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductees follows (*Awarded posthumously):

Darrin M. Adams, Army, Shelby County
Michael L. Close, Army, Delaware County
Carolyn L. Destefani, Air Force, Greene County
Terry Johnson, Air Force, Montgomery County
Donald J. Keehan*, Marine Corps, Lorain County
Paul M. Keller, Air Force/Air Force Reserve, Greene County
John C. Looker, Army, Warren County
Lester L. Lyles, Air Force, Montgomery County
Laurel A. Mayer, Air Force, Greene County
Charles E. McGee*, Army Air Corps/Air Force, Cuyahoga County
Timothy E. McMonagle, Army, Cuyahoga County
Michael P. Monahan, Army, Clermont County
Jack L. Patterson, Army, Coshocton County
Heath M. Robinson*, Ohio Army National Guard, Fairfield County
Stephen L. Rosedale, Army, Hamilton County
David L. Scheffler, Army, Fairfield County
Donald P. Scott, Army Reserve, Mahoning County
Purcell Taylor Jr., Marine Corps, Warren County
Bruce K. Thorn, Army, Franklin County
Robert A. Walkup, Navy/Army Reserve, Williams County.

Bios for all 20 class members, additional information on the Hall of Fame and past inductees can be found at

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize outstanding professional achievement, service to the community and selfless acts of veterans following their military service. Charter members of the Hall’s Class of 1992 included the six Ohio military veterans who were elected President of the United States and all Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees include astronauts, volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates and former government officials.

Members of the Class of 2023, who range in age from 56 to 86, span 14 Ohio counties and four major branches of the United States Armed Forces – the Army, Navy, Air Force and Marines. This year’s class joins 954 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since inception and represent all eras, branches and walks of life.

This year's Induction Ceremony will be live-streamed by the Ohio Channel.

More information is available at, or you can contact the department at