Skip to main content

Wilmington College has 31 athletes named spring Academic All-OAC

The Highland County Press - Staff Photo - Create Article
Brayden Kisling. (Wilmington College photo)
Michael Pagano, Wilmington College

The Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) announced their 2024 Spring Academic All-OAC athletes Thursday morning, and Wilmington College had 31 student-athletes honored across five different sports.

To earn this honor, you must have a cumulative grade-point-average (GPA) of 3.5 or above, be of varsity status and be a sophomore or higher in class standing.

Your cumulative GPA for Academic All-OAC shall be the GPA at the end of the semester preceding the end of each sport season, student-athletes must complete the equivalent of a full academic year while enrolled full time at a nominating school, and an athlete can't be awarded more than three times in one sport.

The Quakers softball team had the most athletes recognized with 10. Earning the honor for the third time in their careers were McKenna Archey, Hillary Huffer and Kylah Morrison. Being named for the second time were Judaea Wilson, Rachel Berry and Makenzie O'Neil. First-time honorees were Nina Peak, Taylor Evans, Mollie Moore and Samantha Schwab.

Three teams had six honorees in baseball, men's track & field and women's track & field. Three-time honorees on the baseball team are Griffin McCauley and Nathan Oliger. Brayden Kisling (editor's note: a junior from Hillsboro) was named for the second time in his Quakers career while Kyle Jennings, Trent Mendenhall and Jay Utterdyke were named Academic All-OAC for the first time in their careers.

From men's track & field, Simon Heys and Noah Tobin have both been on the team three times during their careers while Nathen Borgan and Justin Shuga have been honored twice. First time honorees are Mike Soltis and Gabe Moore. 

Abby Lodewyck has represented the women's track & field team three times while Haley Cook, Molly Hafer, and Kylee Schafer have all been honored twice. Lucy Trout and Sarah Balliett were honored for the first time in their careers.

Men's lacrosse had the most honorees in their program's history with three. Angus Cripe was recognized for the second time in his career while Cody Everly and Jayden Kruse were both honored for the first time.  

Publisher's note: A free press is critical to having well-informed voters and citizens. While some news organizations opt for paid websites or costly paywalls, The Highland County Press has maintained a free newspaper and website for the last 25 years for our community. If you would like to contribute to this service, it would be greatly appreciated. Donations may be made to: The Highland County Press, P.O. Box 849, Hillsboro, Ohio 45133. Please include "for website" on the memo line.