Skip to main content

SOGS hosts annual recognition banquet

The Highland County Press - Staff Photo - Create Article
Civil War Society inductees are pictured: Howard Michael Davidson, Garrett Lee Davidson, Vicky Pulliam Smith, Gail Allen, David Ashley Post, Phillip Gordon Teeters, Richard Davidson, CWSHC Chair Mary Hawthorne, Janice Nell Snider Teeters, Kayla Ratliff Earley, Janice Lynn Murphy Teeters and Martha Butler Clark. (Submitted photos)
Mary F. Hawthorne, SOGS President

At the Southern Ohio Genealogical Society’s annual recognition banquet Thursday evening, June 8, we celebrated our members who joined the First Families, Second Families and Civil War Families Lineage Societies.

Most of the Highland County Civil War ancestors that were recognized were volunteers who served in regiments that were attached to the U.S. Army of the West. More often than not, these units were under the command of William Tecumseh Sherman and/or Ulysses S. Grant, both Ohio men and graduates of West Point.

This year’s Civil War ancestors served in the 40th, 48th, 54th, 89th, 162nd, 168th and 175th Ohio Volunteer Infantry and 11th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry Regiments.  

There were six SOGS members who received First Families Society certificates and pins, three for Second Families and 11 members for ancestors in the Civil War Society.

The evening concluded with a robust and rousing game of “Genealogy Jeoparty.” We counted off into three teams, each with a distinctive buzzer, and faced the 30-question challenge. It seemed that perhaps Team 3 won, but that was not official.  Officially, we had a lot of fun (even without “Oh! Be Joyful!”).  

Upcoming informational meetings will be Thursday, Oct. 12 at 6:30 p.m. and Thursday, Nov. 9 at 6:30 p.m. The topic for October will be Beginning Genealogy Research, and November will be How to Complete Lineage Society Applications.  

Dec. 14 will be SOGS’ annual Christmas gathering.  Last year’s discussion was “My Most Despicable Ancestor.” This year’s topic is to be determined.  Suggestions are welcome.

First Families inductees: FFHC Chair Helen Roe, David Ashley Post, Kayla Elizabeth Ratliff Earley, Martha Butler Clark, Janice Lynn Murphy Teeters, Phillip Gordon Teeters and, seated, Janice Nell Snider Teeters.

Add new comment

This is not for publication.
This is not for publication.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it. Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and email address is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.