Skip to main content

Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame class of 2023 announced

Ohio Department of Veterans Services, Press Release

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services is proud to announce the members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

Twenty outstanding inductees will be honored for their accomplishments and achievements at the 32nd annual Induction Ceremony in November for their post-military service. This stellar class represents 12 Ohio counties and four branches of the U.S. Armed Forces. Ohio Governor Mike DeWine recently approved the entire class and will offer his congratulations during the official ceremony.

Living members of the class range in age from 56 to 86, and there are three posthumous inductees: Korean War veteran and globally successful entrepreneur Donald Keehan; famed Tuskegee Airman and Brigadier General Charles McGee; and Iraq War veteran Heath Robinson, who is credited as the inspiration for the PACT Act that provides funding and health care access for veterans who are dealing with illness related to toxic exposure.

The 2023 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductees (* Posthumous Award) are:

Darrin M. Adams, Army, Franklin

Michael L. Close, Army, Franklin

Carolyn L. Destefani, Air Force, Greene

Terry A. Johnson, Air Force, Montgomery

Donald J. Keehan *, Marine Corps, Lorain

Paul M. Keller, Air Force, Air Force Reserve, Greene

John C. Looker, Army, Warren

Lester L. Lyles, Air Force, Montgomery

Laurel A. Mayer, Air Force, Greene

Charles E. McGee *, Army Air Corps, Air Force, Cuyahoga

Timothy E. McMonagle, Army, Cuyahoga

Michael P. Monahan, Army, Clermont

Jack L. Patterson, Army, Coshocton

Heath M. Robinson *, Ohio Army National Guard, Fairfield

Stephen L. Rosedale, Army, Hamilton

David L. Scheffler, Army, Fairfield

Donald P. Scott, Army Reserve, Mahoning

Purcell Taylor Jr., Marine Corps, Warren

Bruce K. Thorn, Army, Franklin

Robert A. Walkup, Navy, Williams.

"Each year I am awed by the contributions of our nominees to their communities, to the State of Ohio, and to the nation," said ODVS Director Deborah Ashenhurst. "They represent the powerful difference Ohio’s veterans make to the heart of it all."

All 20 members of the class will be honored during the annual Induction Ceremony at 10 a.m. on Nov. 9 at the Fawcett Center for Tomorrow (2400 Olentangy River Rd., Columbus 43210) on the campus of The Ohio State University.

Stay tuned to in the coming weeks for more information about the class and their upcoming induction.

The Class of 2023 joins 952 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since 1992 and represents all eras, branches of service and walks of life.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize the post-military achievements of outstanding Ohio veterans. Charter members of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 1992 include the six Ohio veterans who were elected President of the United States as well as Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees of the past 31 years include astronauts, entrepreneurs, volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates and government officials.

The members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame are honored in a permanent display at the Vern Riffe Center for Government and the Arts, 77 S. High St., Columbus, Ohio.

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services, on behalf of and in collaboration with the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Executive Committee, administers the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame. Comprised of 13 veteran volunteers, the Executive Committee members serve as advisers to the Hall of Fame and their primary purpose is to select up to 20 honorees annually.

Bios and photos of the members of the 2023 class will be available at by Nov. 1, 2023.

For more information, call (614) 644-0898, email, or visit the Hall of Fame website at