Skip to main content

Fairfield holds annual alumni basketball tournament

Lead Summary
The ninth annual Fairfield Alumni Basketball Tournament was held Saturday, April 3. There were 49 participants in the event, and there were a number of competitive games throughout the day. Players from the classes of 2008 and 2009 won this year's tournament, but not without a fight from the 1997 and '98 classes. The 1997 and '98 team came out of the loser's bracket and beat the younger team in the championship game by a score of 59-52. Adam Haines led the team with 22 points in that game. That meant the two teams would have to play one more game, and
it was a close one.
 The final game of the day was going well for the older team. They had a 48-43 lead at the end of the third quarter. Then Andrew McKay caught fire, scoring 16 of his team-high 28 in the fourth quarter. It was back and forth the entire quarter, and with about 6.4 seconds to go in the game, Greg Smith went to the line and made 1 of 2 free throws to tie the game and sent the game into overtime. In the overtime session, the young guns came out fast and took a quick 6-point lead, and it looked as if it was over for the old team. But Nathan Vanwinkle and Adam Haines connected with a couple of long balls to tie the game back up. With 15 seconds to go and with the '97 and '98 class down four points, they fouled Eric Smith. He missed the front end of a 1&1, and the older team got the rebound. Greg Smith then made a bucket off of a Chad Hodson miss from 3 to get them within two points with four seconds to go, and the young guns held the ball to let time run out and preserve the 75-73 overtime win. Andrew McKay led all scores in the final game with 28 points, followed by Nathan Vanwinkle with 24 points.
 Members of the winning team include: Steven Evans, Patrick Rudisill, Kyle Stevens, Mathew Storers, Jon Barber, Eric Smith, Andrew McKay, Clinton Goodrich, and Matt Carson. The second place team consisted of members from the class of 1997 and '98, Nathan Vanwinkle, Chad Hodson, Adam Haines, Greg Smith, Shawn Willey, Josh Howland, Sam Beatty, and Jacob Zink.
 The top five scorers by average for the day were Raymond Friend ('96), 21.7 points; Andrew McKay ('08), 17.2; Tyler Priest ('06), 17.0; Nathan Vanwinkle ('97), 16.2; and Adam Haines, 13.7.
 The school thanks all of those people who volunteered their time to help make this event happen and to those who participated by playing and watching the games. Finally, I want to thank those who donated money, purchased the auctioned items, and especially those who donated items for the auction.
 Please thank the following people and businesses when you see them for their support of this event: Dr. Dean Kiesling, Dr. Lesia Langston McKenna, Leesburg Dairy Bar, Judge David McKenna, Fifth Third Bank, Karen Rose - Mary Kay, W.A. Hodson, Melvin Stone, Leesburg Federal Savings Bank, WSRW Radio, Union Stockyards, Derrick McKamey, Five
Points Implement, Cindy McBee, S&K Dairy Bar, Hoagland Embroidery, Billy Kong's #1 China Buffet, Jenny Smallridge, The Prime Cut Restaurant, Christy Larrick, Ashley Clay - Mary Kay, The Shabby Moose Co., Buckeye Hills C.C., Katie's Confections, and Tammy Evans - Mary Kay.
 As in the past, the monies raised from the event are going towards two $250 student athlete scholarships and to help a group or organization in need from the Leesburg community. This year, we decided to help out the Leesburg Community Center and the Leesburg Veterans Memorial Fund.
We are pleased to announce that because of the great support for the basketball tournament from the community and donors, in addition to being able to award the scholarships, we will also be donating $1,000 to the Leesburg Community Center (Tracy Evans) and $1,000 to the Leesburg Memorial Fund (Jim Cook). Over the last nine years, this group has given out over $4,000 in scholarships to student athletes and $18,000 to organizations and individuals in need in the Leesburg community.[[In-content Ad]]

Add new comment

This is not for publication.
This is not for publication.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it. Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and email address is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.