Skip to main content

Ohio Beef Expo hosts successful judging contest

Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, Press Release

The Ohio Cattlemen’s Association hosted the 2024 Ohio Beef Expo March 14-17 at the Ohio Expo Center in Columbus. More than 30,000 cattle industry enthusiasts gathered for the event which included breed shows, sales and many youth activities including the annual judging contest. 

On Friday, March 15, the judging contest was held in conjunction with The Ohio State University Extension. Over 580 4-H and FFA youth gathered in Taft Coliseum to participate in the contest. All participants evaluated six live cattle classes and were required to answer questions regarding those classes. Participants were divided into junior and senior divisions. Complete results from the contest can be found at 

The following are the results of each category.

Junior Individuals 

Champion Overall Individual: Ella Patterson, Wood County 

Reserve Champion Overall Individual: Jocelyn Belleville, Wood County 

Third Overall Individual: Macy Stanley, Ross County 

Fourth Overall Individual: Landon Moore, Fairfield County 

Fifth Overall Individual: Gavin Richards, Wood County 

Sixth Overall Individual: Lydia Smith, Fairfield County 

Seventh Overall Individual: Ruger White, Ashland County 

Eighth Overall Individual: Brody Bolen, Ashland County 

Ninth Overall Individual: Audrey Motts, Stark County 

Tenth Overall Individual: Natalie Campbell, Mahoning County.

Senior Individuals 

Champion Overall Individual: JT Todd, Champaign County 

Reserve Champion Overall Individual: Samantha VanVorhis, Wood County 

Third Overall Individual: Taylor Poff, Geauga County 

Fourth Overall Individual: Landyn Scheetz, Stark County 

Fifth Overall Individual: Clare Hahn, Ashland County 

Sixth Overall Individual: Gus Wilt, Fayette County 

Seventh Overall Individual: Kaylee Jennings, Clermont County 

Eighth Overall Individual: Wyatt King, Wyandot County

Ninth Overall Individual: Darby Ayars, Champaign County 

Tenth Overall Individual: Chris Blosser, Morgantown, W.Va. 

Junior Teams 

Champion Overall Team: Wood County Junior A - Team Members: Ella Patterson, Jocelyn Belleville, Gavin Richards, Claire Lampe 

Reserve Champion Overall Team: Ashland County 4-H 1 - Team Members: Claire Atterholt, Natalie Attterholt, Kalli Atterholt, Natalie Liston 

Third Overall Team: Ohio All-Stars - Team Members: Macy Stanley, Brayden Cummings, Brianna Foxx, Kolten Greenhorn 

Fourth Overall Team: Stark County Juniors - Team Members: Audrey Motts, Harper Motts, Carlene Briestensky, Coy Ellington 

Fifth Overall Team: Crawford County 4-H Green - Team Members: Mallory Brausw, Rylee Bloomfield, Avary Stirm, Harper Horning.

Senior Teams 

Champion Overall Team: Route 6 Rebels - Team Members: Samantha VanVorhis, Taylor Poff, Ethan Davies, Tatumn Poff 

Reserve Champion Overall Team: Felicity Franklin FFA - Team Members: Kaylee Jennings, Luke Jennings, Rebekah Pertuset, Emma Brandenburg 

Third Overall Team: Crazy 8’s Team Members: Luke Fulton, Carly Csapo, Caiden Daugherty, Mason Kinney 

Fourth Overall Team: Mechanicsburg - Team Members: Darby Ayars, Daltyn Hurst, Hannah Dingleine, Myah Bandy

Fifth Overall Team: Ashland 4-H SR - Team Members: Clare Hahn, Maci Atterholt, Kelsey Kaeser, Blane Young.

Publisher's note: A free press is critical to having well-informed voters and citizens. While some news organizations opt for paid websites or costly paywalls, The Highland County Press has maintained a free newspaper and website for the last 25 years for our community. If you would like to contribute to this service, it would be greatly appreciated. Donations may be made to: The Highland County Press, P.O. Box 849, Hillsboro, Ohio 45133. Please include "for website" on the memo line.