Skip to main content

Highland County GOP Women's Club announces scholarship winners

The Highland County Press - Staff Photo - Create Article

The Highland County Republican Women’s Club met Saturday, May 11 at the Republican headquarters on West Main Street in Hillsboro.

At the top of the agenda, was the awarding of the scholarship winners for the 2024 senior class of Highland County.

The scholarship is named after two of the GOP’s long-time supporters, Kay Ayers and Margaret Van Frank. This scholarship is offered to all high school seniors from the five public high schools and private schools as well as the vocational school that serves the county’s students.

Annually, many students apply to receive one of the scholarships, and committee members collect the applications as they are turned in. Then, the committee reads the required essays the students submit as well their academic information, school interest and work experience as well as their future plans and goals.

This is a very difficult decision every year, and this year was no different. It seems every applicant was worthy to receive a scholarship, but it had to be narrowed to six students.

This year’s scholarship receivers were (l-r): Allison Rocky (Lynchburg-Clay), Hayden Barrera (Fairfield), Lydia Carr (Whiteoak), Addyson Miles (Hillsboro), Bryson Willey (Hillsboro Christian Academy) and Hunter Miller (McClain).

Congratulations to all and thank you to all who applied. We have a really fantastic group of seniors graduating in Highland County in 2024.

Add new comment

This is not for publication.
This is not for publication.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it. Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and email address is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.