Skip to main content

Governor DeWine announces $88M to support public health, workforce development in Appalachia; Fayetteville-Perry LSD to receive $10.8M

Ohio Governor's Office, Press Release

Ohio Governor Mike DeWine, Lt. Governor Jon Husted and the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission (OFCC) Wednesday announced more than $88 million in funding to help nearly a dozen Appalachian school districts improve public health and enhance workforce development in their areas.

Appalachia Community Innovation Centers Grant awardees include:
• Bridgeport Exempted Village School District (Belmont County)
• Brown Local School District (Carroll County)
• Caldwell Exempted Village School District (Noble County)
• Chesapeake Union Exempted Village School District (Lawrence County)
• Fayetteville-Perry Local School District (Brown County)
• Gallia-Jackson-Vinton Joint Vocational School District (Gallia County)
• Indian Creek Local School District (Jefferson County)
• Mahoning County Career and Technical Center (Mahoning County)
• New Lexington City School District (Perry County)
• New Richmond Exempted Village School District (Clermont County)
• Trumbull Career and Technical Center (Trumbull County).

Locally, Fayetteville-Perry LSD was awarded $10,842,473. This new 20,000 square foot facility on Fayetteville-Perry K-12 school will extend the career-tech education programs; add an on-site lab, pharmacy and patient rooms; and create a multi-purpose wellness and training space.

OFCC is awarding the funds as part of the Appalachian Community Innovation Centers Program, which was created in partnership with the Ohio General Assembly. The goal of the program is to create full-service centers for public education, community health services and career development in Appalachia Ohio.

“This is part of our continued commitment to Ohio’s traditionally underserved Appalachian communities,” said Governor DeWine. “No matter where you live in Ohio, everyone deserves access to high-quality education and healthcare resources, and these new centers will play an important role in the transformational change we're beginning to see in this region."

Funding will cover expenses related to the construction of four new school-based community wellness, education, and career development centers in Mahoning, Jefferson, Noble and Brown counties. Seven existing school-district sites will be renovated or expanded to provide services in Belmont, Carroll, Lawrence, Gallia, Perry, Trumbull and Clermont counties.

Each center will provide programming and services which could include in-demand job training; Ohio Means Jobs support; classrooms and computer labs; walk-in health and mental health clinics; on-site dental services; and wellness, physical health and training space.

The new centers will be open to any Ohioan who needs assistance, including those living outside the school districts receiving the awards.

“This is another way we are investing in innovation, education, workforce and communities in Appalachia, boosting economic growth for the region so that the people living there can have a better quality of life and brighter future,” said Lt. Governor Jon Husted.

Administered by OFCC with support from the Ohio Office of Budget and Management, the Appalachian Community Innovation Centers Program aligns with Governor DeWine's Appalachian Community Grant Program, which recently awarded $500 million to support downtown and riverfront revitalization, community health, and economic development in Ohio's 32 Appalachian counties.

Publisher's note: A free press is critical to having well-informed voters and citizens. While some news organizations opt for paid websites or costly paywalls, The Highland County Press has maintained a free newspaper and website for the last 25 years for our community. If you would like to contribute to this service, it would be greatly appreciated. Donations may be made to: The Highland County Press, P.O. Box 849, Hillsboro, Ohio 45133. Please include "for website" on the memo line.