Skip to main content

Hillsboro FFA Chapter attends 95th State FFA Convention

The Highland County Press - Staff Photo - Create Article
Bryce Parsons is shown receiving his award from the Sunrise Cooperative RISE program. Pictured l-r are Ohio FFA State President Aubrey Schwartz, Sunrise Cooperative President/CEO George Secor and Parsons. (Submitted photos)
Kaylee Earley, Hillsboro FFA Student Adviser

On May 4-5, the Hillsboro FFA Chapter attended the 95th Ohio FFA Convention.

On the first day the members attended the first session and watched one of their members, Bryce Parsons, get chosen for the RISE FFA career program that Sunrise Cooperative offered. Parsons then was announced as the winner. He won $1,000 that went towards the Hillsboro FFA Chapter to help enhance their program, as well as a 2022 Jeep Gladiator.

After attending the first session, the members took a trip to COSI, as well as attended the third session of the Convention where they listened to the keynote speaker, Kyle Scheele.

On the second day of the Ohio FFA Convention, the members watched three of their chapter officers receive Gold ratings on their officer books. These officers were McKenzie Pointer, who received Gold on her Secretary Book; Reagan Eastes, who received Gold on her Treasurer's Book; and Breanna Cooper, who received Gold on her Reporter’s book.

After attending the session the members all went out to eat at a hibachi restaurant before attending the last session of the convention.

During the last session at the Ohio FFA Convention, the members watched Ashley Kimball, Julie Bass and Trinity Ferrell sing in the State FFA Choir.

In the last session, we watched 11 of our members receive their State FFA Degree. The State FFA Degree is the second highest level that can be achieved as an FFA member. In order to achieve this honor, the members had to have a list of requirements that they had to achieve.

These members who qualified for the State FFA Degree are Alexandra Crago, Addyson Miles, Abigail Rudy, Bryce Parsons, Brogen Priest, Riley Collins, Jolee Cummings, Reagan Eastes, Gracie Thoroman, Sarah Larrick, and Jenna Rhoades. Congratulations to all of these members on their hard work and achievements.

State Degree recipients, pictured l-r, included: Abigail Rudy, Bryce Parsons, Brogen Priest, Riley Collins, Reagan Eastes, Gracie Thoroman, Sarah Larrick and Jenna Rhoades.

Add new comment

This is not for publication.
This is not for publication.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it. Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and email address is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.