Skip to main content

Governor DeWine recognizes Ohio's Teachers of the Year at State of the State address; Fayetteville-Perry teacher among honorees

The Highland County Press - Staff Photo - Create Article
Pictured from top to bottom and L-R: Joseph Miller, Timothy Hubbard, Shanti' Coaston, Jennifer Kinkoph, Salli Swisher, Judy Brown and Jennifer Best. (Submitted photos)
Ohio Governor's Office, Press Release

Ohio Governor Mike DeWine recognized Ohio's 2024 Teachers of the Year during his State of the State address on April 10. 

"A good teacher has the power to fundamentally change the course of a child’s life," Governor DeWine said during his address. "I’m sure that each of us can recall at least one great teacher who inspired us or motivated us and really changed our lives."

Ohio's 2024 Teachers of the Year are:

• Joseph Miller, Port Clinton City Schools (Ottawa County)

• Judy Brown, National Trail Local Schools (Preble County)

• Timothy Hubbard, Deer Park Community City Schools (Hamilton County)

• Salli Swisher, Fayetteville-Perry Local Schools (Brown County)

• Jennifer Best, Fairless Local Schools (Stark County)

• Jennifer Kinkoph, Aurora City Schools (Portage County)

• Shanti' Coaston, Westlake City Schools (Cuyahoga County)

• Amy DeRodes, Old Fort Local Schools (Seneca County)

• Mark Lowrie, Gahanna-Jefferson Public Schools (Franklin County)

• Steve Kucinski, Dublin City Schools (Franklin County)

• Andrea Novicky, Springfield Local Schools (Clark County).

Publisher's note: A free press is critical to having well-informed voters and citizens. While some news organizations opt for paid websites or costly paywalls, The Highland County Press has maintained a free newspaper and website for the last 25 years for our community. If you would like to contribute to this service, it would be greatly appreciated. Donations may be made to: The Highland County Press, P.O. Box 849, Hillsboro, Ohio 45133. Please include "for website" on the memo line.


From left, Fayetteville-Perry teacher Salli Swisher is pictured with Governor Mike DeWine and first lady Fran DeWine.