Skip to main content

48 Ohio schools, 615 teachers receive Governor's Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education

Ohio Academy of Science, Press Release

The Ohio Academy of Science Monday selected 48 Ohio schools and 615 teachers to receive The Governor's Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research for their accomplishments during the 2022-2023 school year.

Each school will receive a special Governor's Award certificate, and each teacher will receive a complementary membership to The Ohio Academy of Science. The Technology Division of the Ohio Development Services Agency funded the program.

Area awardees are:

• Bishop Flaget (Chillicothe): Amanda Harper, Ashley Tackett, Casey Teets, Christina Kessler, Christy Fay, Debbie Fyffe, Dianne Cryder, Laura Corcoran, Leslie Fout, Macie Alley, Mindy Martin, Rebekah Metzger, Sarah Smith, Taylor Bush and Terrina Fahnestock.

• Unioto ES SCOPES Academy (Chillicothe): Jenni Domo.

• Zane Trace HS (Chillicothe): Jason Clark and John Scott.

A complete list can be found at:….

The criteria for the Thomas Edison Award for Excellence are: (1) Conduct a local science fair with 12 or more students and have two or more of these students participate in the District Science Day or have six or more students participate in the District Science Day when no local has been conducted; and (2) Students must participate in at least one more youth science opportunity beyond the classroom.

The Ohio Academy of Science defines STEM education as both the mastery and integration of science technology, engineering and mathematics for all PK-12 students. It incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design through student-focused, project-based curricula to develop skills of communication, teamwork/collaboration, creativity/innovation, critical thinking and problem solving.

First established in 1985, the Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards recognizes Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate scientific student research and technological design and extend experiential opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities.

“These schools and teachers are preparing students for the future through application-based learning,” said Michael E. Woytek, the Academy’s Executive Director. “Their students are learning and gaining confidence by solving complex problems through inquiry and technological design.”

The Ohio Academy of Science initiated this educational partnership program in cooperation with The Office of The Governor and The Technology Division of The Ohio Development Services Agency to recognize schools and teachers for excellence in STEM education and scientific student research.

Founded in 1891, The Ohio Academy of Science (OAS) is a membership-based, volunteer-driven, not-for-profit organization. The Academy is the leading organization in Ohio to foster curiosity, discovery, innovation and problem-solving skills. OAS members are as diverse as the science taking place in Ohio, and OAS programs support STEM research among pre-college and college students through the professional scientific community.

For more information about the OAS, please visit its website at