(HCP Photo/Stephen Forsha)
(HCP Photo/Stephen Forsha)
Though the American Legion season has been canceled for the 2020 summer due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there will still be baseball for players on the Hillsboro Post 129 baseball team.

The players who would have been on the American Legion team for Hillsboro are now playing in an independent season — not associated with American Legion baseball this summer — and are named the Hillsboro Mavericks.

There are two teams for Hillsboro this summer, as there will be a senior and junior Mavericks team.

The senior team season starts on Friday, June 12 at the annual Troy Tournament, and the first home game for the senior team will be Tuesday, June 16 in a scheduled doubleheader against Portsmouth Post 23 with a 5:30 p.m. start at Shaffer Park.

The Hillsboro junior team is scheduled to start their season Thursday, June 11 at Waverly, beginning at 6 p.m. Their first game at Shaffer Park this summer is scheduled for Wednesday, June 17 in a doubleheader against the Chillicothe Post 757 junior team starting at 6 p.m.

Hillsboro’s head coach is Scott Morgan.

The summer league for Hillsboro also includes the following teams: Chillicothe 757 Colts, Waverly Shockers and Portsmouth.

The senior team roster for the Hillsboro Mavericks includes:
23 Seth Meade, North Adams
34 Cade Meade, North Adams
18 Chase Smaltz, Lynchburg-Clay
28 Dominic Kerns, Clinton-Massie
16 Matthew Mitchell, East Clinton
20 Dylan Kincer, Clinton-Massie
3 Drew Pitzer, Lynchburg-Clay
29 Trey Bogart, Whiteoak
5 Luke Magulac, Hillsboro
10 Zach Humphries, Hillsboro
22 Alex Barber, Lynchburg-Clay
15 Ethan Humphries, Hillsboro
33 John Salyers, McClain
32 Josh Wolfe, Lynchburg-Clay
19 Ian Wiles, Eastern Brown
2 Seth Goodall, Clinton-Massie
26 Zach Mitchell, East Clinton
30 Billy Depugh, Miami Trace
8 Briar Bourne, Lynchburg-Clay.

The junior team roster for the Hillsboro Mavericks includes:

RJ Taylor, North Adams
Dow Moon, Fairfield
Brayden Kisling, Hillsboro
Brady Lung, North Adams
Liam Smart, Hillsboro
Jacob Decker, Hillsboro
CJ Kemper, Hillsboro
Jeremy Kemper, Hillsboro
Lane Kerns, Clinton-Massie
Lukas Roush, North Adams
Ronald Kincer, Clinton-Massie
Landon Swayne, North Adams
Hunter Barnhill, Lynchburg-Clay
Austin Barnhill, Lynchburg-Clay
Trey Pitzer, Lynchburg-Clay
Garrett Payton, Miami Trace
Dakota Gasaway, Clinton-Massie.