In its 37th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, Gatorade this week announced Kathryn Randorf of Gilmour Academy is the 2021-22 Gatorade Ohio Volleyball Player of the Year. Randorf is the first Gatorade Ohio Volleyball Player of the Year to be chosen from Gilmour Academy.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Randorf as Ohio’s best high school volleyball player.

Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Volleyball Player of the Year award to be announced in January, Randorf joins an elite alumni association of state award-winners, including USA Volleyball players Kayla Banwarth (2006-07, Wahlert High School, Iowa), Alisha Glass (2005-06, Leland Public High School, Mich.), Jordan Larson (2004-05, Logan View High School, Neb.) and Foluke Akinradewo (2004-05, St. Thomas High School, Fla.).

The state’s returning Gatorade Player of the Year, the 6-foot-1 senior middle blocker and outside hitter led the Lancers to a 25-3 record and a second straight Division II state championship this past season. Randorf compiled 459 kills, 298 digs, 106 blocks and 37 service aces while posting a kill percentage of .536 and a hitting percentage of .430.

A three-time News Herald Player of the Year, she is a 2021 American Volleyball Coaches Association First Team All-American selection and concluded her prep volleyball career with 1,408 kills and 394 blocks.

Randorf has volunteered locally with Gilmour Academy’s Baking for Rainbows Club, which benefits the Cleveland Clinic Children’s Hospital. She has also donated her time as a youth volleyball coach.

“Kathryn can play six rotations with ease,” said Kate Latkovic, head coach of St. Joseph High School. “She played the middle and worked hard to make herself available to hit an undiggable ball. She can play any position.”

Randorf, who was diagnosed with dyslexia in sixth grade, has maintained an unweighted 4.19 GPA in the classroom. She has signed a National Letter of Intent to play volleyball on scholarship at Northwestern University this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball and boys and girls track & field and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which leverages experts including coaches, scouts, media and others as sources to help evaluate and determine the state winners in each sport.

Two-time winner Randorf joins recent Gatorade Ohio Volleyball Players of the Year Emily Londot (2019-20, Utica High School), Riley Wagoner (2018-19, Dublin Coffman High School), and Jonni Parker (2017-18, Miami East High School), among the state’s list of former award winners.

Gatorade has a long-standing history of serving athlete communities and understands how sports instill valuable lifelong skills on and off the field. Through Gatorade’s “Play it Forward” platform, Randorf has the opportunity to award a $1,000 grant to a local or national organization of their choosing that helps young athletes realize the benefits of playing sports. Randorf is also eligible to submit a short video explaining why the organization they chose is deserving of one of 12 $10,000 spotlight grants, which will be announced throughout the year. To date, Gatorade Player of the Year winners’ grants have totaled more than $3.5 million across more than 1,300 organizations.

Since the program’s inception in 1985, Gatorade Player of the Year award recipients have won hundreds of professional and college championships, and many have also turned into pillars in their communities, becoming coaches, business owners and educators.

To learn more about the Gatorade Player of the Year program, check out past winners or to nominate student-athletes, visit or follow on social media on Facebook at, Instagram at and Twitter at