Lynchburg-Clay senior Peyton Scott was selected as the OHSSCA Division III SE District Girls Player of the Year.
Lynchburg-Clay senior Peyton Scott was selected as the OHSSCA Division III SE District Girls Player of the Year.
Highland County boys and girls soccer were well represented in the 2018 Southeast District Coaches Association All-District list, as a total of 38 soccer players from the county were honored, including having one of those players selected as a player of the year.

Selected as the OHSSCA Division III SE District Girls Player of the Year was Lynchburg-Clay senior Peyton Scott. Scott led the Lady Mustangs with 83 points this season, including 35 goals and 13 assists.

There were a total of 11 players from Hillsboro, McClain, Lynchburg-Clay and Fairfield who were named to the All-District first-team in Division II and Division III.

In Division II boys, those players were Hillsboro’s Quinn Conlon (senior, forward) and McClain’s Evan Hutchinson (senior, midfielder). In Division III, the boys players were Lynchburg-Clay’s Blake Marcelino (junior, defense), Chris Young (senior, forward) and Fairfield’s James Bentley (senior, keeper).

For the girls first-team All-District selections in Division II, players selected were Hillsboro’s Callan Myers (senior, midfielder) and McClain’s Kelli Uhrig (senior, midfielder). For Lynchburg-Clay in Division III, named to the first-team were Kali Cochran (senior, defense), Kaylee Lunsford (junior, forward) and Scott (senior, midfielder). For Fairfield, named to the first-team was Lyndee Spargur (senior, forward).

In Division II for the second team, selections for the girls were included from Hillsboro in Molly McCreary (senior, midfielder/forward) and McClain in Kerigan Pollard (sophomore, midfielder). In Division III, girls second-team selections were Lynchburg-Clay’s Belle Brinkman (junior, forward) and Riley Creditt (senior, midfielder) and Fairfield’s Trinity Huff (senior, keeper).

In Division II for the boys second team, selections included Hillsboro’s Andrew Gunderman (senior, midfielder) and Landon Weber (freshman, defense) and McClain’s Caleb Goddard (junior, midfielder). Division III second-team selections were Fairfield’s Jordan Cameron (junior, midfielder) and from Lynchburg-Clay, Damin Pierson (senior, midfielder) and Drew Pitzer (senior, defense).

All-District honorable mention players for the boys in Division II were Hillsboro’s Logan Crafton (senior, midfielder) and Spencer Rudy (senior, defense and McClain’s Braeden Bergstrom (sophomore, forward) and Griffin Foltz (junior, defense).

In boys Division III, honorable mention selections were Gavin Stroop (junior, keeper) and Hunter Balon (sophomore, defense) from Lynchburg-Clay and Fairfield’s Tanner Collins (senior, midfielder/defense) and Zach Ison (senior, midfielder/defense).

For the Division II girls, honorable mention selections were Hillsboro’s Sami Blair (sophomore, midfielder) and Emily Hawk (senior, midfielder) and McClain’s Haley Peterman (senior, midfielder) and Beckley Smith (junior, defense).

In Division III, honorable mention players for the girls were Lynchburg-Clay’s Sierra Benney (sophomore, midfielder) and Mikaela Tipton (junior, midfielder) and Fairfield’s Ella Newkirk (freshman, forward) and Cadence Saunders (freshman, forward).

Earning the team sportsmanship awards were the Hillsboro boys, Hillsboro girls, McClain boys, McClain girls, Lynchburg-Clay girls, Fairfield boys and Fairfield girls.