U.S. House of Representatives Democrats approved a bill Friday, June 26 to make the District of Columbia the nation's 51st state, by a 232-180 mostly party-line vote.

One rational Democrat, Rep. Collin Peterson of Minnesota, voted against it.

The bill would turn most of the District of Columbia into a new state named "Washington, Douglass Commonwealth."

It would be entitled to two senators and a voting member of the House of Representatives.

The legislation is opposed by the Republican-led Senate – and most reasonable minds.