The Ohio Academy of Science Tuesday selected 54 Ohio schools and 556 teachers to receive The Governor's Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research for their accomplishments during the 2018-19 school year.

Each school will receive a special Governor's Award certificate, and each teacher will receive a complimentary membership to The Ohio Academy of Science. The Technology Division of the Ohio Development Services Agency funded the program.

Area winners include:

• Unioto Elementary (Chillicothe): Jenni Domo; and

• Bishop Flaget Catholic School (Chillicothe): Nancy Ames, Julie Beatty, Natalie Byrd, Dianne Cryder, Terrina Fahnestock, Christy Fay, Debbie Fyffe, Tina Haller, Carrie Hill, Chelsea Irvin, Linda Kerr, Chrissy Kessler, Mindy Martin, Courtney Maxwell and Danielle McDaniel.

The criteria for the Thomas Edison Award for Excellence are: (1) to conduct a local science fair with 12 or more students; (2) qualify two or more of these students for one of the Academy's 17 district science days; (3) have students participate in at least one or more youth science opportunities beyond the classroom such as State Science Day, Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair, Science Olympiad, B-Wiser, visits to museums, mentorship programs and extended field trips and other structured STEM-related youth activities; and (4) convince external STEM professionals how and to what extent the school’s program met the Academy’s definition of STEM education.

The Ohio Academy of Science defines STEM education as both the mastery and integration of science technology, engineering and mathematics for all PK-12 students. It incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design through student-focused, project-based curricula to develop skills of communication, teamwork/collaboration, creativity/innovation, critical thinking and problem solving.

First established in 1985, the Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards recognizes Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate scientific student research and technological design and extend opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities.

“These schools and teachers know that only teaching STEM from a textbook is not an option,” said Michael E. Woytek, the Academy’s Executive Director. “Each of the awardees provides opportunities and experiences for hands-on learning, and they clearly value inquiry-based, scientific research. Many of their students excel at District Science and State Science Day.”
The Ohio Academy of Science initiated this educational partnership program in cooperation with The Office of The Governor and The Technology Division of The Ohio Development Services Agency to recognize schools and teachers for excellence in STEM education and scientific student research.

About The Ohio Academy of Science:
Founded in 1891, The Ohio Academy of Science (OAS) is a membership-based, volunteer-driven, not-for-profit organization. The Academy is the leading organization in Ohio to foster curiosity, discovery, innovation and problem-solving skills in Ohio. OAS members are as diverse as the science taking place in Ohio, and our programs support science from pre-college and college students through scientific professionals.
For more information about the OAS, please visit its website at