Pictured are Hillsboro mayor-elect Justin Harsha, left, and Hillsboro city council president-elect Tom Eichinger. (HCP Photos/Caitlin Forsha)
Pictured are Hillsboro mayor-elect Justin Harsha, left, and Hillsboro city council president-elect Tom Eichinger. (HCP Photos/Caitlin Forsha)

Hillsboro city councilman and local business owner Justin Harsha was elected as mayor of Hillsboro in the Nov. 5 general election.

Harsha unofficially received 760 votes, while there were reportedly 11 write-in votes for Anton Weissmann, unofficially. Overall in the city of Hillsboro, there was a 21.49-percent voter turnout.

Harsha replaces two-term mayor Drew Hastings, who did not seek reelection in 2019.

Harsha is currently in his second term on Hillsboro city council and is the sixth generation to own his family’s business, Harsha Monument Company, in Hillsboro. He is also the second generation to serve on city council and as mayor, with his father, Sandy Harsha, serving two terms as mayor in the 1990s and as a councilman for six years.


During his tenure as a city councilman, Harsha has served as a member of several committees, including finance, which he currently chairs; street and safety, which he chaired during his first term; zoning and annexation; and property maintenance and restoration. He is also council president pro tempore.

Also for the city of Hillsboro, Thomas Eichinger — who has been serving as council president since being appointed by the Highland County Republican Party in April — was unofficially elected to complete the unexpired term of former council president Lee Koogler.

Eichinger unofficially received 469 votes, while Democratic candidate James Cameron received 351 votes, unofficially.

Prior to his appointment as council president, Eichinger served on the Hillsboro planning commission and on the Imagine Hillsboro steering committee. He is retired from the information technology industry.

Eichinger was elected to fill the unexpired term of Koogler, following his resignation, with the term running through Dec. 31, 2021.

Also running unopposed in the city of Hillsboro were Hillsboro city auditor candidate Alex Butler, a Republican, who received 757 votes, unofficially; and current city treasurer Heather Young, a Democrat, who received 528 votes, unofficially.

Butler replaces Hillsboro city auditor Gary Lewis, who did not seek reelection. Young was running to complete the unexpired term of Patty Burns, who resigned to take another position in the city water department. Young was appointed by the Highland County Democratic Party and sworn in as city treasurer in September 2018, with the term running through Dec. 31, 2021.

Incumbent Hillsboro city law director Fred Beery, a Republican, was also re-elected with 702 votes, unofficially.

In the Village of Greenfield, former Greenfield village council member Brenda Losey was elected with 319 unofficial votes, as was Mark W. Branham, who received 303 votes, unofficially. For the third open seat, Kyle Barr unofficially received 89 write-in votes, while incumbent Mark Clyburn received 64, unofficially. There was 21.19-percent voter turnout in Greenfield.

The Village of Highland saw current council member Jeremy Kibbey unofficially defeat Julia Crabtree for the mayoral position by a 26-14 margin. Current Highland village council members Andrew Mackan (26 unofficial votes) and Tim Williams (33 unofficial votes) were also reelected. There was 26.80-percent voter turnout in Highland.

In the village of Leesburg, current Leesburg council member Shawn Priest was elected as mayor, replacing current mayor Freddie Snyder, who did not run for reelection. Priest is another second-generation mayor, as her mother, Bernease Priest, also served as mayor and on village council, as did Shawn Priest’s father, James Priest. There was 18.87-percent voter turnout in Leesburg.

For Leesburg village council, Rita J. Smith-Daulton, who received 103 unofficial votes, and Kenneth W. Worley, who received 101 unofficial votes, were elected, replacing Priest and current council member Wesley Willey. The candidates defeated Blythe Pelham, who received 27 votes, unofficially.

Current Lynchburg village council member James A. Burton, who received 187 unofficial votes was elected as the village’s next mayor, replacing current mayor Terry Burden, who did not seek reelection. Current council member Marty Bailey was reelected with 170 votes, while Ken Eaglin, who received 146 unofficial votes, will replace Burton on council. There was 24.09-percent voter turnout in Lynchburg.

In the village of Mowrystown, Stephen Sheeley, who ran unopposed, was reelected as mayor, receiving 27 votes. No valid petitions were filed for Mowrystown village council. There was 17.97-percent voter turnout in Mowrystown.