Lynchburg-Clay junior Eric McLaughlin (HCP Photo/Stephen Forsha)
Lynchburg-Clay junior Eric McLaughlin (HCP Photo/Stephen Forsha)
Highland County collected three first-team selections from the annual Associated Press All-District voting, with the county having a total of 17 players selected by members of the media.

As for the first-team selections, in boys basketball Lynchburg-Clay junior Eric McLaughlin was selected as a Division III first-team player for his performance this season. McLaughlin totaled a double-double this year with 20.4 points per game and 10 rebounds per game.

Also from Lynchburg-Clay in girls basketball, Peyton Scott, a sophomore, was a first-team selection in Division III, while in Division IV Fairfield junior Grace Shope was also a first-team selection by the AP. Scott this season averaged 20.4 points per game, while Shope averaged 17.4.

There were a total of four basketball players from Highland County with second-team selections. In boys basketball, LC senior Joe Giordano was a second-team selection in Division III, and in Division IV, Fairfield senior Jesse Current was named second-team.

Giordano had an average of 18 ppg this past season, while Current averaged 11.9 ppg and 9.8 rebounds per game.

In girls basketball, McClain senior Taylor Polley (Div. II) and Lynchburg-Clay senior McKayla Binkley (Div. III) were named to their respective second teams. Polley averaged 11.5 ppg, and Binkley averaged 17 ppg with 9.1 rpg.

A total of three players were named to the third team in the AP All-District selections, including McClain senior Jacob Starkey (Div. II) and Fairfield senior Jensen Daulton (Div. III) in boys basketball, while in girls basketball LC senior Hannah Binkley was named to the third team. Starkey finished with 13 ppg, while Daulton averaged 16.2 ppg. Hannah Binkley averaged 15.9 ppg.

Seven players from Highland County were selected as special mention All-District. In boys basketball, those included: Hillsboro sophomore Ethan Watson (Div. II), Fairfield senior Wyatt Evans (Div. IV) and Whiteoak junior Trever Yeager (Div. IV). Girls basketball special mention selections were: Hillsboro junior Madi Marsh (Div. II), McClain senior Malea Montavon (Div. II), Fairfield junior Blake Adams (Div. IV) and Whiteoak senior Maggie Carr (Div. IV).