The 2017 Spring Training exhibition schedule will begin on Wednesday, Feb. 22 as the Arizona Diamondbacks host Grand Canyon University at Salt River Fields in Scottsdale, Ariz., Major League Baseball announced Wednesday. Official Grapefruit League and Cactus League games will begin on Friday, Feb. 24, while the first full slate of games involving all 30 Major League Clubs will take place on Saturday, Feb. 25.

The Ballpark of the Palm Beaches, the new Grapefruit League home of the Houston Astros and Washington Nationals in West Palm Beach, Fla., will host its first game on Tuesday, Feb. 28 when the Nationals host the Astros.  The Astros will play their first home game in the new facility on Wednesday, March 1 against the Miami Marlins.



The teams competing in the Miami, Florida pool (Pool C) and the Jalisco, Mexico pool (Pool D) of the 2017 World Baseball Classic will participate in exhibition games against Major League clubs from Tuesday, March 7 through Thursday, March 9.  Teams representing the countries of Canada, Colombia, the Dominican Republic and the United States will each play two games at Grapefruit League sites, while the teams of Italy, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Venezuela will each compete in two contests at Cactus League sites.

In addition, the two Semi-Finalist teams to advance from the second round in Tokyo, Japan (Pool E) will play exhibition games at Cactus League sites on Saturday, March 18 and Sunday, March 19 before heading to Los Angeles for the Championship Round of the World Baseball Classic from Monday, March 20 through Wednesday, March 22.

Among games being played outside of traditional Spring Training sites, split squads of the Cleveland Indians and Texas Rangers will play two games in San Antonio, Texas on Friday, March 17 and Saturday, March 18; split squads of the Cincinnati Reds and Chicago Cubs will have two contests in Las Vegas, Nev. on Saturday, March 25and Sunday, March 26; and select exhibition games at Major League and Minor League ballparks will be played from Thursday, March 30 through Saturday, April 1. 

ESPN will provide national coverage of seven 2017 Opening Day games on Sunday, April 2 and Monday, April 3. The seven games on Sunday and Monday will include the participation of six clubs that participated in the 2016 postseason, including an exclusive ESPN “Sunday Night Baseball” national opener from Busch Stadium in St. Louis that will feature the defending World Series Champion Cubs visiting their NL Central division-rival St. Louis Cardinals at 8:30 p.m. (ET)/7:30 p.m. (CT).

For the complete 2017 Spring Training schedule, subject to change, visit mlb.com.